Till Death Do Us Part

tildeathdouspartOn rare occasions, I’ll be several chapters into a book when I realize that I’m reading something special.  I got that sense two chapters into The Burning Court – I knew that I was in for a fun ride and I almost regretted knowing that it would at some point end.  I was fortunate enough to experience that feeling again with Till Death Do Us Part, and even more fortunate that it was an intuition that turned out to be correct.

Having surveyed reviews on a number of sites, I categorized the book as Highly Recommended Carr.  This was a mistake, it is a Classic.  As with He Who Whispers, everything about this story just works.  Riveting impossible crime – check.  Excellent pacing – check.  Memorable characters – check.  The feeling that the rug is constantly being pulled out from under you – che…well, this is a Carr novel, so I suppose that’s a given


Till Death Do Us Part qualifies as a bonafide locked room mystery, not simply an impossible crime.  This is one of my favorite categories on the genre, with the sheer mechanics of how a killer could leave a crime in so vexing a state nagging at you for the entire book.  Although Carr is known as the master of the locked room, I’ve actually read only a few books that technically qualify as fully sealed – The Judas Window and arguably The Burning CourtThe Ten Teacups, The Red Widow Murders, and Hag’s Nook all involve puzzles that nearly qualify, but in each case there is an aspect of the crime scene that disqualifies it from being considered sealed – don’t worry, I’m not giving anything away, these facts are clearly laid out early on in each story.

In the case of Till Death Do Us part, the locked room mystery is just one of the many aspects that makes the story work.  Yeah, the crime is always stuck in your mind, but there are so many more other interesting things that you’re trying to figure out.  Carr neatly drops one mystery after another at your feet, leading the reader down a path that in part seems to grow more clear, while at the same time growing more shrouded.  In some books in particular, the author consistently shocks with major twists at the end of each chapter.  This is definitely one of those.  I’m not sure if there is a single chapter that doesn’t end with something jarring.

That constant rate of twists, clues, and revelations makes Till Death Do Us Part an engrossing read.  I was halfway through the book without realizing it, feeling more like I was in the early chapters  Strong characters help too.  I really felt like I had a clear understanding of who everyone was throughout the entire story, even in the earliest chapters.

The most standout character is the love interest of the protagonist.  Similar to the female lead in He Who Whispers, we’re dealt a character who is hounded by past accusations, and upon whom suspicion falls for the latest crime.  What’s different here is the uncertainty.  He Who Whispers is a bit like The Judas Window – there’s always that back chance that the accused character could be guilty, but we’re rooting for them.  In Till Death Do Us Part, you really don’t know.  I found myself tilting back and forth in my suspicions.

The end of the story may be one of Carr’s best in terms of tension.  I’m drawn into the end of every one of his books, if only to learn the secret of the puzzle.  In this case, we’re treated to a riveting finale in which lives feel truly at stake and you don’t know what is happening.

When all is said and done, I’ll find it hard to believe if I don’t have this in my top 5 Carr stories, but then again, I’m loving everything I read by the author.  Maybe it won’t qualify for “Best Puzzle” or “Best Solution”, but in terms of “Overall Story”, this is in the top of the pack.

A curious aside

Astute readers will notice the multiple references in the story to Goblin Wood – the setting of Carr’s masterpiece, The House in Goblin Wood.  Of course, Carr self references all the time – in fact The Problem of the Green Capsule is mentioned in Till Death Do Us Part as well.  However, these references are normally limited to the “universe” of the main detective.  In this case, we have a Dr Fell book referencing a location from a Merrivale story.

This is actually the second book in a row that I’ve read where I noticed an out-of-universe reference.  At the very end of Death Watch, Dr Fell (or was it Hadley?) mentions Bencolin.  Although surprised by this, it wasn’t completely shocking – both Fell and Bencolin were published under the name of John Dickson Carr.  Merrivale though was published under the name of Carter Dickson, which makes the Goblin Wood reference in Till Death Do Us Part more interesting.

52 thoughts on “Till Death Do Us Part”

  1. Having just read a book that could have done with much more in the way of incident, it’s always a joy to look back over this or The Problem of the Green Capsule and see just how well this kind of thing can be done when written by someone who has complete confidence in and control over the puzzle they’re setting. The fact that it also has one of those brilliant mid-novel revelations that change everything makes it especially entertaining — Carr did the same thing with The Judas Window, though in that case I prefer the mid-novel revelation to the novel-ending impossibility explanation.

    TDDUP is undoubtedly top tier Carr, and at not quite halfway through his output I’m confident he didn’t write ten books better than this. Or, hey, maybe he did and even more delights await us… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And with regards Goblin Wood/Bencolin/etc, maybe someone should commission one of those Doctor Who-style specials where all Carr’s sleuths team up to solve an impossible murder…

      Actually, oh god no, that’s a terrible idea…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Erm, the prospect of Merrivale and Fell meeting one another might either be ingenious or disastrous. I can imagine Merrivale bulldozing his way into the room and nearly knocking Fell down, if not for Fell’s equally protuberous physique. And Fell thwacking at Merrivale with his double-canes, or perhaps attempting to smother Merrivale with his cape, during one of Merrivale’s ‘I-can’t-reveal-the-solution-yet’ moments. Oh wait, Fell does that too. 😀

        Liked by 2 people

      2. It should be done like Leo Bruce’s Case for Three Detectives. Fell, Merrivale, and Bencolin would each propose a brilliant solution to the crime, followed by Hadley and Masters tearing them all apart and offering up a dead simple alternative.

        Like

    2. This is one of those stories where you wonder how Carr wrote it all. There are so many small aspects that play into the solution that are dropped throughout the story. Does Carr have all the details from the start, or does he finish the book and then go back and inject the hints?

      Well, to be fair, you could make this comment about most of his books – it just feels like this story and Death Watch are the most complex in the interweaving of hints with the core plot.

      Like

      1. I wonder the same thing about The Hollow Man and the Plague Court Murders. And, well, someothers, too, actually, but I don’t want to just write a long list of Carr titles.

        But you’re right, it’s absurdly dense, and everything play back into itself wth such cleverness of construct. Hollow Man does a similat thing on a more…absurd scale, which I think is one of the reasons it’s held in such totemic awe. Shocker, I think THM would only just about creep into Carr’s ten best novels, for what it’s worth — it’s excellent, and ridiculously clever, but he wrote much better and more complex plots in a far more accesible way. Case in point — TDDUP.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the review- ‘Till Death Do Us Part’ is one of my favourite Carr novels, even though I seem to recall the resolution to the locked-room conundrum too technical for my taste. Glad you enjoyed this one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the end of this could have benefited from a diagram. I _think_ I understand the basics of the mechanism, but it is still a little cloudy despite me reading the section like three times in a row.

      Like

  3. This was an excellent mystery. The only minor issues I had is that the motive seemed to come out of nowhere, I couldn’t recall anything that even hinted at it, and I also had some trouble imagining the mechanism of the crime and agree that a diagram would help. I had the same problem with Edmund Crispin’s Swan Song in that a character describing in detail how it was done wasn’t quite enough for me to actually form a picture in my mind.

    Like

    1. The comparison to Swan Song is perfect, as it’s difficult to fully understand how the solution worked. This is an exception for Carr, and I can think of one other story where some people feel like things aren’t easily pictured. Carr’s big successes are the solutions that seem so simple in retrospect that you can’t believe you didn’t think of them – The White Priory Murders and The Emperor’s Snuff Box being excellent examples.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was able to understand it with some thought, so it wasn’t incomprehensible, but that’s a minor quibble. What I loved about Till Death Do Us Part was the opening setting/scene which was beautifully depicted, the breathless pace, and the clever clues. I also really felt the emotional rollercoaster the protagonist was on.

        Like

Leave a comment

Playing Detective

Thoughts on mystery fiction and games

Golden Age of Detective Fiction

Detective Fiction of the 1920's & 1930's

Solving the Mystery of Murder

Investigating CLASSIC MYSTERIES

A Crime is Afoot

A Random Walk Through Classic Crime Fiction

Long Live The Queens!

About Ellery Queen and other GAD authors

James Scott Byrnside

Author of impossible-crime murder mysteries

Countdown John's Christie Journal

A review of Agatha Christie's crime novels and short stories from beginning to end

Dead Yesterday

Classic Mysteries and Domestic Suspense

Noirish

The annex to John Grant's *A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir*

Justice for the Corpse

Reviews of classic fair-play mystery fiction - spoiler-free unless otherwise noted

Composed Almost Entirely of Books

Books read, books written, books I just spotted and covet like an ox

Mysteries Ahoy!

Detecting Great Crime Fiction