A Kiss Before Dying – Ira Levin (1953)

A big thanks to Aidan at Mysteries Ahoy for championing this book and putting it on my radar.  I probably recognize the title from vaguely being aware of the 1991 film adaptation staring Matt Dillon.  I realize I just lost two thirds of my reading audience with that statement; a portion shouting out an outraged comment about Robert Wagner, and the rest being stupefied that a movie was the first thing that came to mind when hearing the title.  But yeah, this is a book where I definitely recognized the title as something well established in culture, without ever realizing it was a classic mystery.

Although it’s not really a mystery; maybe more of a spiraling episodic thriller in the Cornell Woolrich sense.  But, damn, I loved every dark page of it.  Unfortunately, as with many of the well done spiraling thrillers, you can’t really say much about the plot, because the fun is in trying to get a sense of where it’s going to take you.  Case in point: the story starts with a college romance leading to an accidental pregnancy.  He doesn’t want to keep the baby, while she wants to get married.  The boyfriend toys around with the thought of ridding himself of “the problem” via a fool proof murder.  Where does this lead?  The obvious answer is an inverted murder mystery.  Clever me thought that maybe the girlfriend bumps off the boyfriend in a startling twist.

Well, neither happen, but Ira Levin has something up his sleeve that is much more interesting.  In part it’s how he swings the pendulum between different character’s perspectives and objectives.  One moment you’re experiencing the panic of a would be killer whose plan has gone awry, and the next moment you’re focused on the plight of the would be victim.

The story is divided into three parts, and the most brilliant bit may be the curve ball that Levin throws to open the second section.  A profound moment, where as a reader I realized that I wasn’t aware of a very basic bit of information that I assumed I knew.  And it throws the story into a frenzy, with danger lurking in every nuanced interaction.  I was tying myself in knots trying to think three steps ahead of the author, and of course, that’s the point.

It’s a brutal book – not in any gory sense – both for what it lays bare on the page, and for the even more devastating realization of events withheld.  Top notch stuff.  Ira Levin went on to have a successful career as a writer (Rosemary’s Baby, The Boys from Brazil, The Stepford Wives), but never wrote anything else like this.  That’s a shame, as I’d love to read more.

My edition

A Kiss Before Dying is widely available – I’m guessing in part due to the two film adaptations – and with availability tends to come crap book covers.  The 1954 Signet paperback edition is the best that I could find.  George Ziel’s cover art is pretty nice.  The woman is done a bit better than the man, but I like the captured pose.

11 thoughts on “A Kiss Before Dying – Ira Levin (1953)”

  1. I devoured Ira Levin as a kid, but as readable as he is, the only ones I truly love are A Kiss Before Dying, Rosemary’s Baby, and the oddball dystopian novel, This Perfect Day, which I re-read every few years. Three different genres, and yet in each Levin was a perfect master of the twist. If you haven’t read TPD, I highly recommend it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I, too, am pretty sure that my first awareness of this title came from the Matt Dillon movie — so we’re in that club together! And, like you, I loved this. Levin seems to have had that question desire to put his hand into as many genres as possible, but, man, do I wish he’d stuck to pure Suspense and simply turned out ten masterpieces in our genre…

    Like

    1. I think it’s the discussion about inverted mysteries linked to at the top of your review that turned me on to this book. Of course it then took me three years to get around to buying it – part of that being the dearth of nice editions – and then I finally got around to reading it.

      Neither of the film adaptations are available at the moment on any streaming service that I have. I don’t see how this would work as a movie though, as I think the brilliant part of the novel is the question of identity during the second portion. Take that out and this is a much more straight forward thriller.

      Like

  3. It’s a great suspense novel (the 1950s film version starring Robert Wagner is also well worth a look) and Stephen King said incredibly nice things about it in his book DANSE MACABRE, which I assume is where most readers might come across it (I also recommend the King book btw). Levin was remarkably varied in his output (this novel was his debut) – I would add STEPFORD WIVES and BOYS FROM BRAZIL to my favourites to those already mentioned by Brad, though of course there is something sublime about his title SON OF ROSEMARY, the sequel he wrote to ROSEMARY’S BABY. I would also signal VERONICA’S ROOM as a very creepy stage play of his, which I did a post on way back when: https://bloodymurder.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/veronicas-room-1973-by-ira-levin/

    Like

    1. I really must disagree about Son of Rosemary, and yes I understand “roast mules.” Still the worst sequel in the history of literature.

      Like

  4. So happy to see that you enjoyed this one so much. I completely agree about how you describe the brutality of the book – it shocks not because what it shows is graphic (as you say, it’s anything but) but because it is done so easily and with so little regard for the sanctity of life. Thanks for giving me an opportunity to reflect on it again and remember just how much I love reading this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Playing Detective

Thoughts on mystery fiction and games

Golden Age of Detective Fiction

Detective Fiction of the 1920's & 1930's

Solving the Mystery of Murder

Investigating CLASSIC MYSTERIES

A Crime is Afoot

A Random Walk Through Classic Crime Fiction

Long Live The Queens!

About Ellery Queen and other GAD authors

James Scott Byrnside

Author of impossible-crime murder mysteries

Countdown John's Christie Journal

A review of Agatha Christie's crime novels and short stories from beginning to end

Dead Yesterday

Classic Mysteries and Domestic Suspense

Noirish

The annex to John Grant's *A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir*

Justice for the Corpse

Reviews of classic fair-play mystery fiction - spoiler-free unless otherwise noted

Composed Almost Entirely of Books

Books read, books written, books I just spotted and covet like an ox

Mysteries Ahoy!

Detecting Great Crime Fiction