The Double Thirteen Mystery – Anthony Wynne (1926)

One of my favorite reads last year was Murder of a Lady by Anthony Wynne.  Not only was it highly readable, but it featured a series of truly puzzling impossible crimes.  The good news – Anthony Wynne released nearly 30 mystery novels, and I’ve heard that he focused on impossible crimes.  The bad news – Murder of a Lady is the only Wynne novel you’re likely to get your hands on, as he seems to be one of those forgotten authors.

Until now.  Within the past year or so four Wynne novels have been reprinted, three of them by Spitfire Publishers.  I’ve collected all but one, and I’m somewhat diving into uncharted territory as I haven’t seen reviews of these (save for one over at Cross Examining Crime).

You can pat me on the back as taking one for the team with The Double Thirteen Mystery.  It’s not a bad read by any means, but it simply isn’t the type of mystery that I think most of us are looking for.

The story revolves around an investigation into the disappearance of some Russian ex-pats living in London.  The trail eventually leads to a country estate, where investigators find evidence of a car crash and eventually turn up the body of a murdered man.  Wynne’s series sleuth Dr Hailey sits back as another detective comes up with an elaborate explanation of what must have happened at the crime scene, and of course any reader will note that there are about 30 very thin assumptions being made.  And so then Dr Hailey spends the rest of the book troubled by something not feeling right about the solution, and slowly realizing that some of the assumptions were incorrect.  All so that come the end Dr Hailey can say “aha, things actually unfolded in a somewhat different way than we thought”, although none of it really seems to matter.

The story was written in 1926, and you can get a sense that car crash forensics may have been a novel topic for a reader at the time.  Wynne doesn’t make it quite as interesting as R Austin Freeman would have, and it feels more dated than intriguing.  We also have tropes of hypnotism, bad guys actually wearing black eye masks, and the sentiment that you can judge someone’s character purely based on their social standing – an attitude that Dr Hailey wearily reflects on, which is comical, given that Wynne and Hailey are guilty of it in spades throughout the book.

As a story though, this is a pretty good read.  Wynne isn’t a dull author and keeps the story moving with a near Croft-ian level of painstaking investigation.  And yet it ultimately ends up nowhere.  The big reveal of how the core crime unfolded doesn’t really serve any purpose other than “there must be a denouement”.  There’s a bit of a clever thing involving cryptography – seriously though, does any reader even attempt these cryptography puzzles? – which ties into the title of the novel (no spoiler), although I laugh, because I read this thing for 250 pages wondering when the title was going to come into play.

I think you’d enjoy this if you read it, but what’s the point of reading a mystery that doesn’t really deliver on the mystery?  There’s way too much else out there.

As for me, I’ll keep going with the Anthony Wynne novels, under the hope that I can uncover another locked room mystery as engrossing as Murder of a Lady.  I’m still hoping that Spitfire or another publisher continues to make them available.

8 thoughts on “The Double Thirteen Mystery – Anthony Wynne (1926)”

  1. Yes I enjoyed Murder by a Lady too, so had good expectations for the second one I read. Alas they did not come to fruition. Sounds like you had a slightly better time with your second Wynne read. I feel like both books are harking back to an earlier form of mystery writing.

    Like

    1. Yes, The Double Thirteen Mystery is definitely a 20’s mystery and an example of why I don’t seek out that decade. I’m a bit of a 30s-40s bigot, but occasionally get surprised by strong novels from the 20s and 50s.

      Like

  2. Sorry to hear this didn’t work out for you. If you’re hankering for more Wynne, a story of his — ‘The Dancing Girl’ (1926) — was included in the recent Final Acts collection from the BL. It’s not great, I’m not even sue it makes sense when you unpick what’s supposed to have happened, but it might be a cheaper way to get more Wynne into your system.

    Like

    1. That’s a fine reminder of just how many of these “forgotten” authors have an untapped library of short stories. The FictionMags index lists quite a few Wynne stories, although I recognize some of these as serialized novels. http://www.philsp.com/homeville/FMI/n10/n10684.htm#A22

      The Cyprian Bees seems to have shown up in a number of short story collections, suggesting it might be one of his better stories. It looks like it was included in one of Martin Edwards’ anthologies a few years back.

      Like

      1. Adey lists 21 novels and two short stories by Wynne, and Skupin adds one novel to this…so probability is on your side when it comes to stumbling over more impossible crimes.

        Of course, I didn’t enjoy Murder of a Lady as much as you did, so my enthusiasm for Wynne is a little muted. If someone else discovers someting great, all to the good, but I think I’ll let others do the discovering. I’ll focus my efforts on Walter S. Masterman for the good of the GAD community 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I own a few Anthony Wynne books. I too had hopes for some impossible crimes of excellence. I read Murder In Thin Air. A wonderful setup of a man stabbed to death while alone in an airplane. The solution was utterly unsatisfactory. I’m in no rush to get to the others as I always have more books to read than time to read them. I think there are scans of one or two Wynne short stories from archive.org pulp magazines as well but I’m going to focus more on some Herbert Adams stories from Canadian printed Collins White Circle paperbacks.

    Like

Leave a comment

Playing Detective

Thoughts on mystery fiction and games

Golden Age of Detective Fiction

Detective Fiction of the 1920's & 1930's

Solving the Mystery of Murder

Investigating CLASSIC MYSTERIES

A Crime is Afoot

A Random Walk Through Classic Crime Fiction

Long Live The Queens!

About Ellery Queen and other GAD authors

James Scott Byrnside

Author of impossible-crime murder mysteries

Countdown John's Christie Journal

A review of Agatha Christie's crime novels and short stories from beginning to end

Dead Yesterday

Classic Mysteries and Domestic Suspense

Noirish

The annex to John Grant's *A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir*

Justice for the Corpse

Reviews of classic fair-play mystery fiction - spoiler-free unless otherwise noted

Composed Almost Entirely of Books

Books read, books written, books I just spotted and covet like an ox

Mysteries Ahoy!

Detecting Great Crime Fiction