The Hollow Man (The Three Coffins) – John Dickson Carr (1935)

Let me know when you’ve found another book that throws down the gauntlet in the opening stretch like this one does.  The Problem of the Wire CageThe Judas WindowThe Red Widow Murders?  Maybe.  I scan my bookshelves and I struggle to find a book that comes out with as solid of an opening as The Hollow Man.

There are plenty of mystery novels that start strong.  I’ll write you a whole post on the first sentence of Rim of the Pit or The Red Right Hand if you want.  Those are perfect opening sentences, and the paragraphs that follow them are fine as well.  There are also books with storming opening chapters; see the suffocatingly impossible hellscape we’re confronted with in chapter one of The Judas Window.

That’s all well and good, but the absolute barrage that Carr lays out in the first fifty pages of The Hollow Man is why we read these books.  Other mysteries may surpass it in terms of the opening chapter, but damn, the entire conceit that The Hollow Man opens with is near perfection.  And it keeps going.  And it keeps going.  And maybe now I know why this book is so famous…

I’ve read enough of Carr that I’ll ramble on about the weak points in his writing towards the end of his career.  But what about the strong points of the beginning?  The Hollow Man is that strength embodied.  The ability to describe a scene with a single sentence.  The agility to stack more intrigue into a chapter than most of his revered contemporaries managed in their complete output.

It’s a homecoming of Carr for me, and I’m conscious as to whether I can fairly review this one.  I’ve read them all… almost, right? Clever me would have left Carr’s “classic” as my last Carr novel, and yet I leave this as my second to last.

“What, you haven’t read The Hollow Man?” you ask.  Well, yeah, but not on purpose.  I spoiled this one for myself a year or so before I ever took the leap into the impossible crime genre.  The notion of a locked room murder sounded really intriguing nine years ago, and not to be bothered with actually committing to reading a novel, I made the idiotic decision to skim what sort of solution there might be.  I’ve never been able to find the actual post that spoiled this for me, but it was a thorough one.  Like probably the length of what I’m about to write.  And it was incredibly well written, in that it gave me an abbreviated sense of the entire novel; not just explaining the tricks behind the multiple impossible crimes, but also the whole backstory and motive (the brothers, the coffins, etc).  I’d regret reading it to my dying day if it hadn’t also spurred me into actually diving into impossible crime novels.  It taught me that the solution of these puzzles went miles beyond “the killer snuck down the chimney” or “the killer hid behind a painting that was painted to look like the rest of the room” (no clue where I get the last impression, but it stands out as a solution from a story I read as a child).  This was some deep misdirection, and although I realized immediately that The Hollow Man had some controversy regarding aspects of the solution, it was enough to get me to make that next step.  Follow on with short stories The Wrong Problem and The Blind Man’s Hood by Carr.  Follow that with dozens of respectable, if not impressive, stories from The Black Lizard Book of Impossible Crimes.  Follow that with my monumental $2.50 commitment to the genre by actually purchasing a book on eBay (a Dell map back edition of Hag’s Nook, not even knowing at the time what a map back was).

It was in the likes of The Problem of the Green Capsule, The White Priory Murders, The Judas Window, The Emperor’s Snuff Box, and He Who Whispers that I realized how much I had to go all in on these mysteries.  And here I am eight years later finally getting around to the book that you’ve all already read.

But, daaaamn, that opening.  It’s a slow burn – let’s be honest, Carr’s opening mostly with strong slow burns at this point in his career (The Burning Court, hello) – but this one buuuuurns.  This isn’t the slow opening that I fear I may be implying – Carr’s pounding quality scene description and intrigue into your brain with the fidelity of a meat mallet – rather it builds and builds and builds like few others I can think of.  It’s those books in my opening paragraph that maybe contend in terms of opening salvo.  I beg you to throw out other examples because either I haven’t read them or I’m just blanking at the moment.

The setup, for those of you haven’t read this, involves the eccentric Dr Grimaud inviting a masked stranger into his study in the presence of several witnesses.  Minutes later, a shot rings out, and when the door to the study is finally battered down, Grimaud lays moribund from a gunshot wound, just in time to leave a garbled dying message that will be dissected and reinterpreted multiple times throughout the length of the novel.  Inexplicably, there is no way that the assailant could have escaped the room, as the chimney is too tight to fit through, and the only window leads out to an expanse of untouched snow.

I’m giving a scant flyover on the setup, because like one of those children’s fortunetelling thumb contraptions made out of paper, Carr unleashes an ever-changing mystery that mesmerizes as it folds and contradicts over a number of chapters.

The metamorphosis of the puzzle just doesn’t stop, and it eventually evolves into another impossible crime featuring a man shot point blank in the back by an invisible assailant in front of three reliable witnesses.  On top of that, the body is surrounded by an expanse of snow touched only by the victim’s footprints.

The Hollow Man is infamous for Chapter 17 – titled The Locked Room Lecture – which involves Dr Fell breaking the fourth wall and giving a lecture on locked room murders.  It’s every bit an impossible crime fan’s fantasy, with Fell providing seven distinct solutions to a locked room murder, and an additional five methods solely focusing on tricks involving the locked door.

“I will now lecture” announced the doctor, with amiable firmness, “on the general mechanics and development of that situation which is known in detective fiction as the ‘hermetically sealed chamber.’”

As famous as Chapter 17 is, I was just as swept up by chapter 14, in which another character lectures on the techniques of magicians, revealing the solution behind a number of classic magic tricks.  Having gone into this book knowing the solution, I enjoyed seeing how both Chapter 14 and 17 brush lightly on the true solution to the impossibilities, and at one point, Carr practically dangles the solution in the reader’s face.  There are also some “junk” solutions that Fell dismisses as cheats for locked room mysteries during The Locked Room Lecture, and it’s interesting to note that Carr used ingenious variations of them in some of his most famous novels that he wrote later.

The Hollow Man is a locked room fanboy’s dream, and that’s more so on account of Carr’s writing and plotting than the actual impossible crimes.  There’s absolutely brilliant misdirection in the vein of Death Watch or The Four False Weapons, and yet the mechanics behind key parts of the solutions are out of the realm that any reader could conclude on their own.  Indeed, I went into this book knowing how the tricks were worked, and despite paying studious attention during a key scene, I felt like my memory was deceiving me, as things seemed to be described in such a way that the solution I remembered couldn’t have worked.

That’s a minor quibble though in an outstanding story.  The Hollow Man was an absolute joy to read, and it triggered the memory of what I experienced years ago when I was making my way through Carr’s novels from the 1930s.  I almost forgot just how much stacking of mystery that Carr was capable of, and the way in which every minor quirk of the story comes together at the end for an explanation that makes complete sense.  In that sense, The Hollow Man is as good as the best of them.  I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to fairly rank this book because the fact I had spoiled it meant I didn’t get to experience the puzzle nor the enlightenment.  Still, there were so many details that fit together perfectly that I was still in awe and experienced a number of surprises.

Throughout this post I’ve referred to this book as The Hollow Man, which was my preferred title going into it.  Having read it, I’m drawn more to The Three Coffins, which is a hauntingly appropriate title.  I guess it’s just force of habit at this point that I still use The Hollow Man.  My favorite passage comes at the end of chapter 18, but it would have made a gut-punch of a final line for the novel.

“He turned away, but he did not immediately go.  As the muddy light deepened to purple, and dust-colored shadows swallowed up the room, he remained for a long time staring at the slashed picture which caught the last glow with its turbulent power, and the three coffins that were filled at last.”

It triggers a memory of the final beautiful passage at the end of Anthony Boucher’s The Case of the Crumpled Knave.

As a final bit, you may be intrigued to note that although The Hollow Man is the sixth Gideon Fell novel, it is the first one to feature an actual impossible crime.  It would be four more novels until Fell featured in another impossible crime novel, with The Problem of the Wire Cage.  As I’ve noted elsewhere, although Fell is often associated with locked rooms and other impossibilities, it was actually the Sir Henry Merrivale novels of the 1930s where Carr was focusing on that type of puzzle.  Fell shifted to an impossible crime focus starting in 1939.

20 thoughts on “The Hollow Man (The Three Coffins) – John Dickson Carr (1935)”

  1. Not the length of this post, but could this potentially have been the site that you spoiled yourself on?
    https://www.dondammassa.com/Zcarr1.htm
    Even if it isn’t, I find it really useful to look at, especially post reading Carr’s novels, because it’s easy to understand, especially for the first two decades.

    As for the Hollow Man, this was my first Carr, read it some two years ago, liked it then, and I still liked it this year when I reread it. For me, it’s just like you say. Very strong book with a great solution, but I do doubt it sometimes (ROT13: jbhyq abobql abgvpr n pybpx vf fybj ol zber guna sbegl zvahgrf?) I also really enjoy the chapter where O’Rourke? talks about magic tricks.

    Carr’s best book ever? Maybe, maybe not, but it sure is a fine one.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m pretty sure it wasn’t this Don Dammassa post, because I recall it being a dedicated page. But yes, that Don Dammassa site is part of a post-Carr ritual for me. Every time I finish a novel I check out what Don had written about it. I don’t always agree with his opinions, but they are always interesting. For those who haven’t read the site, beware that it contains a spoiler in every review, and I don’t recommend reading about any books that you haven’t already read.

      Like

      1. I am also consulting that site after my rereads, and using it to find the order I should read them in if I want to do it chronologically.

        Like

        1. Two other sites that I consult after every Carr read:

          This is a collection of older Carr reviews and they are interesting to read (especially since they are written through the lens of an earlier community opinion). There are reviews for about 90% of Carr’s books, and some occasionally feature spoilers.
          http://gadetection.pbworks.com/w/page/7930179/Carr%2C%20John%20Dickson

          Some brief reviews by the late Grobius Shortling. These contain spoilers, but they are clearly marked.
          https://web.archive.org/web/20120717005601/http://www.mysterylist.com/carr2.htm

          Like

  2. So this is your penultimate Carr. Impressive that you have made it through his entire canon. What is the last title you have yet to read?

    Like

    1. The last Carr novel that I have to read is Death Turns the Table. I found myself in a spot about two years ago where I only had lesser Carr’s left to read (mostly late Fell novels) or books that had been spoiled for me (The Hollow Man and He Wouldn’t Kill Patience). Death Turns the Table was the one exception, and coincidentally around the same time, JJ from The Invisible Event dropped a rave review of the book. That pretty much sealed it for me.

      The bonus is that although I’m sure I read some details about Death Turns the Table, I don’t really recall anything about the mystery except that it features a judge. It will be fun to walk into an early 1940s Carr novel with no clue what is going to happen.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Death Turns the Tables (aka The Seat of the Scornful) is wonderful. It will be good to hear what you think about this one when you get to it. Glad you finish on a strong title and not one like The Cavalier’s Cup or Dark of the Moon.

        As for the Don Dammassa post, it is useful to read the comments there after finishing a Carr book although I don’t agree always with his summaries. For example, he didn’t like, She Died a Lady, which is one of my favorites and a pure Carr classic. To each his own though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m getting close to finishing his novels myself. Have you not read ‘The Murder Of Sir Edmund Godfrey’? I can’t find a review on your site. As for ‘Death Turns The Tables’, it’s one of the better Fells imo. I currently rank it at #16 overall out of everything that I’ve read. He may surprise you again!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I own The Murder Of Sir Edmund Godfrey, but I haven’t read it yet. Since it is semi-nonfiction I’m treating it a bit different than Carr’s “normal” novels, and will read it later, along with the various short story collections.

          I’m happy to hear that Death Turns the Tables is top 20 material. A good way to go out.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yeah, I wasn’t sure whether or not to include Godfrey within my reading order, but I did & am glad that I did. The clincher was watching that video online where the great Otto Penzler discusses Carr & mentions Godfrey. He says something to the effect that many over the years have mislabled it as nonfiction but that it is, in fact, heavily fictionised. He was right! It is, however, much more detailed with historical data/footnotes than any of his other historical fiction, & thus the confusion. He also frames his narrative in a unique way which compells the reader to look beyond his own text. You could compare it favorably to Josephine Tey’s ‘The Daughter Of Time’ written 15 years later (& posthumously receiving all the accolades), except here it is Carr himself who is the detective, a great twist of the form & a key work of his genius.
            Your reading of ‘The Hollow Man’ 2nd to last in your project certainly goes against the grain! That was, like many others, the first for me. There was no turning back…

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Finished The Three Coffins this morning. I found the solution very clever, though I agree with themanwhocantsolveanything’s observation in rot13. I early on noticed the discrepancy between the testimony of two witnesses and believed it would be a major component of the mystery but I had no idea how. Now that I’m three books into Carr’s work, I’m getting more and more impressed with his gift for red herrings/misdirection. The background story of this one was spooky and effective.

    I think I would have liked the book even more had I not been hampered by the worst Kindle edition I’ve ever encountered, full of unnecessary hyphens between syllables of words, inexplicable spaces in the middle of chapters and yet no space between chapters, and a truckload of typos (my favorite being “the tendency of witnesses always to overestimate lime”). I imagined said witnesses mixing bad gimlets.

    Like

    1. The Three Coffins is a good example of a form of misdirection that Carr used often in many of the Fell novels from the 1930s (don’t worry, no spoilers in this comment). The basic idea being that the reader feels like they have read one story, but come the solution, you realize that an entirely different story has unfolded behind the scenes. Everything fits really neatly into place in a way that you never could have imagined.

      Where to next? If you can get your hands on The Emperor’s Snuff Box, The Burning Court, or The Ten Teacups (aka The Peacock Feather Murders) those are really good. Ah, I think you had mentioned The Red Widow Murders and The White Priory Murders, which are both excellent choices.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your enthusiasm for this is lovely, because it’s not just the usual trotting out of the cliche recommendation of the only Carr title that was available for however many years until very recently. You make me want to reread this immediately, since it was my very first Carr — I had to give up on it a third of the way through at first attempt — and I’d love to see it through older, more Carrified eyes.

    And, man, I hope you enjoy Death Turns the Tables. I had the good fortune to come to it with zero expectations, so hopefully me telling you how much I loved it doesn’t set you up for a termina disappointment.

    Like

    1. There was a bit of a “wow, I’m never going to experience this again” to it, and I suppose that will be doubly true after Death Turns the Table. Still I’ve got The Third Bullet and All In a Maze, plus dozens of short stories and plays. But man, some of Carr’s work needs length to truly stretch its legs in order to achieve that “you were reading a different set of events than you thought” effect in full. Brilliantly done here, and really a hallmark of Carr in the 1930s. Carr wrote some brilliant stuff in the 40s, but I’m blanking a title that captured the baklava-esque layers of misdirection. Examples by Paul Halter would be The Seventh Hypothesis and The Tiger’s Head.

      Like

  5. Congratulations on finally reading this one! It is marvellous, and unlike the Crooked Hinge, I feel it really deserves to be among the best-known of Carr’s work.

    Death Turns the Tables is also good, but controversial. I enjoyed a lot on second reading, but not so much on the first.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I wish I enjoyed Carr more than I have; undeterred by his prose, which alternately lapses into bouts of whimsy, incoherence or excess, I might have been adequately driven to track down and read most of his works by now given my love of GAD and locked room mysteries. Nowadays I occasionally return to his bibliography, pick up one of his B-listers and then it really is 50/50 on whether I successfully make it to the end, having withstand his relentless attempts to smother my interest in his story, or go on to abort the thing by chapter three, sighing “never again”. He is to me what EQ is for you. Still, if only because, in addition to containing a once-read-never-forgotten solution, it was also my jumping off point with locked room mysteries, I will always retain a soft spot for Hollow Man.

    Like

Leave a comment

Playing Detective

Thoughts on mystery fiction and games

Golden Age of Detective Fiction

Detective Fiction of the 1920's & 1930's

Solving the Mystery of Murder

Investigating CLASSIC MYSTERIES

A Crime is Afoot

A Random Walk Through Classic Crime Fiction

Long Live The Queens!

About Ellery Queen and other GAD authors

James Scott Byrnside

Author of impossible-crime murder mysteries

Countdown John's Christie Journal

A review of Agatha Christie's crime novels and short stories from beginning to end

Dead Yesterday

Classic Mysteries and Domestic Suspense

Noirish

The annex to John Grant's *A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir*

Justice for the Corpse

Reviews of classic fair-play mystery fiction - spoiler-free unless otherwise noted

Composed Almost Entirely of Books

Books read, books written, books I just spotted and covet like an ox

Mysteries Ahoy!

Detecting Great Crime Fiction