The Seventh Hypothesis – Paul Halter (1991)

TheSeventhHypothesisThat I’ve made it four months without devouring another Paul Halter novel is a display of herculean restraint.  While by no means perfect, the previous three novels that I’ve read by the modern master of impossible crimes were the summer blockbuster equivalent of a locked room mystery.  Well, scratch that analogy – I tend to loathe summer blockbusters as shallow facades that bore with their action rather than excite.  Although many might deride Halter’s work as being equally shallow, I’ll guiltily admit that they give me exactly what I want.

Take the hooks, puzzles, and misdirection from five solid GAD impossible crime novels, compress it all down to 140 pages, thin out the writing a little (with excuse, perhaps, for being translated), and you’re dealing with a Halter novel.  It may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but if you haven’t read one yet, I encourage you to give it a try.  The puzzles are thick and the twists come flying at you.

The Seventh Hypothesis has been a consistent figure on Top 5 Halter lists that I’ve seen posted in the comments section of this blog and others.  It’s curious though, because unlike Halter’s other titles, there doesn’t seem to be any stand out hook.  Most summaries that I’ve read concentrate on medieval plague doctors on the loose in the streets of 1930’s London, plus a corpse mysteriously appearing in an alley.  Contrast that with Halter’s other stories, which typically feature the allure of multiple baffling impossible crimes, and I was curious why this one was so well regarded.

I’ll clear the air by stating up front that this is one hell of a book.  Rarely, if ever, has my head spun so badly as it did during one particular stretch of chapters about a quarter of the way into the story.  Yeah, there’s a double impossible crime angle in there somewhere, but that’s not the part to write home about.  Halter fills your brain with competing angles of intrigue, shakes violently, and then let’s your brain implode.

So…about the plot.  The Seventh Hypothesis is really the story of two men engaged in a duel of unusual terms.  Although each seeks the death of his rival, it is the snap of the executioner’s rope around the neck that will do the deed.  You see, rather than pistols at dawn, the two rivals are engaged in a game in which each participant’s goal is to frame the other for murder.

It’s an enticing premise, as it naturally brings along several layers of mystery.  Who will be the unfortunate victim?  How will the killer establish a perfect alibi?  How do you thwart someone who you know is attempting to frame you for murder?

It’s almost like an inverted mystery complicated by two problems – you don’t know which of the men committed the murder, nor do you know if any given murder is necessarily tied to the duel.  Mix in the inherent need for an unbreakable alibi, blend with a few minor impossibilities, and you have a perfect storm of GAD mystery hooks.  I really won’t say anything about the plot beyond that – it’s fun to unravel it on your own.

Never have I been so bewildered by a book.  There’s a particular passage in which the duel is first introduced that is absolutely delightful.  Halter builds a mystery, knocks it down, reverses it, folds it, inverts it, and stretches it all back again.  It’s fascinating to read, as you see a true master of the art fluidly manipulating a puzzle right before your eyes.  By the end of the passage my head was reeling and I scarcely knew what to believe.  This sequence alone is worth the price of admission.

The ending is thoroughly satisfying, with Halter in typical fashion sweeping back the curtain and showing you the machine that was running behind the scenes all along.  Everything clicks together quite well in similar fashion to The Madman’s Room, although I think I may have preferred elements of the solution to the latter.  In fact, the layers of mystery are so thick throughout The Seventh Hypothesis that the ending might come as a slight let down.  Don’t get me wrong – the ending is quite solid – it is just that the rest of the story is flat out amazing.

I’ll put The Seventh Hypothesis right up towards the top of my Halter reads along with The Demon of Dartmoor and The Madman’s Room.  The Demon of Dartmoor may win out for having my favorite impossibility and solution.  The Seventh Hypothesis would be closely tied with The Madman’s Room in terms of a book that I would lend out to a friend unfamiliar to the genre.  Both of these titles read a bit better than The Demon of Dartmoor and may make a better introduction to the author.

As for me, I’m reaching my trembling hand back towards my stack of traditional Golden Age mysteries.  The few Halter novels that I have on my shelf will have to wait to be savored some time down the road.  I’ll just take things one day at a time.

18 thoughts on “The Seventh Hypothesis – Paul Halter (1991)”

  1. Yaaaay! I’m delighted you enjoy the elements of this that I found so much fun, that sturm und drang of the plot being reversed and reversed and flipped and spun is superbly wonderful, and anyone who fails to appreciate it is really missing out on some glorious plotting.

    It’s often tempting, given Halter’s reputation for impossibilities, to dismiss this one on account of the impossibilities being a fairly minor concern herein, but it does show Halter’s ability to twist and twist again magnificently, without needing to get caught in too many technical concerns (the “magically appearing body in a dustbin” is a nice minor touch, but didn’t really need to be left so long to be resolved, imho).

    Your Halter Fanboy Membership Pack is in the post; welcome aboard!

    Like

    1. I figured out the body in the dustbin pretty much immediately – one of the few (only?) times I’ve actually figured out an impossible crime. Fortunately it was a minor enough element that it didn’t impact my vast enjoyment of the book.

      I look forward to my membership packet!

      Like

  2. I skimmed this review as I have this as my next Halter and should be getting to it soon. I will look forward to revisiting your thoughts after reading it for myself but your suggestion that it is a little like an inverted mystery seems promising from my perspective!

    Like

    1. I can’t wait to see what you make of it. It’s definitely off the beaten path. Remind me which Halters you’ve read – The Madman’s Room…….and Death Invites You?

      Like

      1. The Madman’s Room, Death Invites You, The Phantom Passage, The Demon of Dartmoor. TPP is the only one I didn’t really enjoy and that is mostly to do with a problem I had with the resolution. I am looking forward to seeing what I make of it too!

        Like

  3. Thanks for the review, and I’m glad you liked it. This was the first Halter novel I read, and since then I’ve read more of his works – but this remains to be his best effort so far. In fact, I think I would rank it among the top 3 mystery novels I read in 2015. The only one that comes close, I think, would be ‘Picture from the Past’, though I also liked ‘Fourth Door’ and ‘Death Invites You’. Then again, I still haven’t touched ‘Phantom Passage’, ‘Demon of Dartmoor’ and ‘Madman’s Room’ – which I’m saving up for a rainy day. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still can’t relly say how good or bad The Picture from the Past is — I mean, I gave it five stars when I reviewed it a while back, but a huge part of that is just how hilariously subverted my expectations were. It’s a wonderfully inventive and playful narrative, and actually makes a pretty good comparison with The Seventh Hypothesis for this reason, but precisely how I feel about that book still dogs me 🙂

      Like

      1. It’s strange – The Picture from the Past is the one Halter translation that always slips my mind. For some reason I tend to associate it with being a weaker work, such as The Seven Wonders of Crime. I shall have to adjust my list of titles to buy…

        Like

        1. For some people it probably is a weaker work, but I’m a sucker for something a little uncommon. I can believe it’s a very divisive work, but I love it. I think. Maybe I hate it. I dunno.

          Like

Leave a comment

Playing Detective

Thoughts on mystery fiction and games

Golden Age of Detective Fiction

Detective Fiction of the 1920's & 1930's

Solving the Mystery of Murder

Investigating CLASSIC MYSTERIES

A Crime is Afoot

A Random Walk Through Classic Crime Fiction

Long Live The Queens!

About Ellery Queen and other GAD authors

James Scott Byrnside

Author of impossible-crime murder mysteries

Countdown John's Christie Journal

A review of Agatha Christie's crime novels and short stories from beginning to end

Dead Yesterday

Classic Mysteries and Domestic Suspense

Noirish

The annex to John Grant's *A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir*

Justice for the Corpse

Reviews of classic fair-play mystery fiction - spoiler-free unless otherwise noted

Composed Almost Entirely of Books

Books read, books written, books I just spotted and covet like an ox

Mysteries Ahoy!

Detecting Great Crime Fiction