Through a Glass, Darkly – Helen McCloy (1950)

For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face

ThroughAGlassDarklyI first became aware of this title via Ed Hoch’s 1981 compilation of top impossible crime novels.  Sharing a spot alongside works like The Judas Window, Rim of the Pit, and Death From a Top Hat seems to speak volumes for a book.  Of course, that can be quite a reputation to live up to as well.

Through a Glass, Darkly is my first experience with Helen McCloy, although she’s on my radar for other much lauded titles such as A Cue for Murder and Mr Splitfoot.  This is the eight book with her series character Dr Basil Willing – a psychiatrist, not a detective.  Many reviewers consider it to be her masterpiece, although I’ve read a number of other reviews that consider several of her other works to be superior.

The story focuses on the tragic figure of Faustina Crayle, forever hounded by a seeming conspiracy that she doesn’t understand.  As the book opens, Faustina is losing her second teaching job in two years.  The students and staff at her boarding school in Connecticut are terrified of her, which is surprising given her mild manner.  The reason for their terror doesn’t become apparent for quite a few chapters, and so if you haven’t read this book yet, you might consider skipping this review (and others) and going in blind, because that aspect was fun for me.

 

 

Still here?  Ok, well, it’s not like it’s some super twist that you shouldn’t know about, but I was enchanted by those early chapters where I was trying to figure out what might be going on.

The students at Faustina’s school are afraid of her because she has the ability to project a double.  On multiple occasions, she’s been observed by multiple witnesses to suddenly slow her movements into a trance like state.  At the exact same moment, other witnesses report seeing her in places where she couldn’t possibly be, such as the other side of the school campus.

It’s this notion of a projected double that pushes Through a Glass, Darkly into impossible crime territory.  I have to admit, it’s an impossible premise that doesn’t really capture my imagination.  The immediate conclusions that I couldn’t help but jump to were that either someone is doing a clever impersonation, or Faustina has an unknown twin.  I mean, come on, what else could it be?  But, of course, with this being such a highly praised book, I knew there had to be something more to it.

The story jumps back and forth between the boarding school in Connecticut and New York City, where Dr Basil Willing lives and Faustina has recently relocated.  Willing’s involvement in the mystery is a bit nonsensical.  His girlfriend was a coworker of Faustina, and writes him a letter offhandedly mentioning that Faustina was acting a bit odd and had borrowed a memoir of Goethe.  This scrap of information is apparently enough to cause Willing to drop all of his work for several weeks and instead invest all of his time traveling around investigating what could be amiss.

There’s a murder that occurs roughly midway through, but it’s by no means what you might think of as being an impossibility.  A teacher at the boarding school appears to have tripped down a flight of stairs, but one witness reports that it was Faustina who pushed her.  This contradicts the fact that we know Faustina is in New York City and was on the phone with another person at the time.  This puts us in the situation where we naturally have to question if Faustina has an unbreakable alibi or whether someone is impersonating Faustina.

ThroughAGlassDarkly2My Dell Mapback (the cover of which I love) is interesting because it features a map of a house on the New Jersey seaside that doesn’t play into the plot until the very final chapters of the book.  A very interesting scene plays out at the house, which may factor in to why the book is so well regarded, but it transpires far too late in the story for me to go into any detail.  I get why Dell chose this particular setting for the illustration, but it did seem a bit strange that it does’t factor into the story until the very end.

Overall I liked McCloy’s style of writing and the story moved at a fine pace.  The character of Faustina Crayle was reminiscent of Fey Seton from John Dickson Carr’s He Who Whispers, and the tragic aspects of the story will definitely linger with me.

I can’t say that I really think Through the Past, Darkly quite belongs on a list of top impossible crimes.  It was certainly intriguing, but I’d say most Carr books that I’ve read are more worthy of a spot.  Perhaps the main weakness for me was that, as stated above, a doppelgänger doesn’t really capture my imagination in the same way as other impossibilities.

There is actually a nice twist to one aspect of the solution that reminded me of a John Dickson Carr trick (not relating to doubles) from a Merrivale book, although I fear we can’t discuss it as it could cause a two-way spoiler.

I have two more McCloy books on my shelf, and although Through a Glass, Darkly wasn’t quite the masterpiece I had hoped for, I’m certainly looking forward to reading them.

23 thoughts on “Through a Glass, Darkly – Helen McCloy (1950)”

  1. I can’t say that I really think Through a Glass, Darkly quite belongs on a list of top impossible crimes.

    It has been many years since I read both versions of Through a Glass, Darkly, but my response was roughly the same as you. A great read that invited me to look further into McCloy’s work, but it was, perhaps, not the classic impossible crime novel you might expect from its reputation.

    A reputation that should have been bestowed on Mr. Splitfoot, which I can’t recommend enough. And arguably one of the few good, classically-styled detective novels to have been published during that dark decade known as the sixties.

    On a side note, yesterday I picked a McCloy for my next read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked it. It builds slowly and has tons of atmosphere to savor. I only learned relatively recently that the novel is an expansion of a short story. I’ve not read that yet, although I do now have a copy of the collection it appears in and will do at some point. In fact, I have maybe a half dozen of McCloy’s books unread on my shelves.

    Like

      1. That’s it. Amazon UK had a number of McCloy reprints going for around £3 apiece, this collection being one of them, and I just had to indulge at that price.

        Like

  3. Yeah, I’m with you. This is…fine. I think it achieves a certain reputation on account of how it tackles an uncommon impossible problem — Faustina is clearly in view of others at two far apart places at the same time, and her behaviour indicates that there’s something funny about her that means there could be something behind it all…but it never really comes to life.

    The notion of a parallel with Fey Seaton is an interesting one, and not onw that occurred to me when I read those two books. Certainly Faustina Crayle is persecuted by an intangible sense of “wrongness” that is held against her through no fault of her own, much like Fey Seaton. Good spot, I should have been wise to that.

    Like

  4. Thanks for the review. 🙂 I recall feeling slightly underwhelmed by this one, as it was touted as one of McCloy’s best novels. I certainly thought ‘Deadly Truth’ was better.

    Like

  5. I would say also avoid DO NOT DISTURB, a Helen McCloy book I could not finish. But I did enjoy CUE FOR MURDER when I read it last year. I’m going to read one more McCloy book probably because i like the name Basil Willing. Maybe I’ll look for MR SPLITFOOT, which is such an odd name.

    Like

  6. “The immediate conclusions that I couldn’t help but jump to were that either someone is doing a clever impersonation, or Faustina has an unknown twin. I mean, come on, what else could it be?”

    That was my reaction as well, and the fact that no-one in the story suggested the twin theory made me think there was something to it. That is not exactly the solution but close enough for me to be underwhelmed by the solution of that part.

    Like

    1. Hmm, well, you’ve stumped me… or I suppose that I’ve stumped myself. It’s been five years since I posted this and I can’t for the life of me think of which Merrivale novel I would have been referencing. I’m confident it wasn’t on account of the angle that you brought up, because I know that isn’t what I would have thought the clever part was. I’m sure that it involved the key death at the end, although I can’t think of any parallels to Merrivale.

      Like

Leave a comment

Playing Detective

Thoughts on mystery fiction and games

Golden Age of Detective Fiction

Detective Fiction of the 1920's & 1930's

Solving the Mystery of Murder

Investigating CLASSIC MYSTERIES

A Crime is Afoot

A Random Walk Through Classic Crime Fiction

Long Live The Queens!

About Ellery Queen and other GAD authors

James Scott Byrnside

Author of impossible-crime murder mysteries

Countdown John's Christie Journal

A review of Agatha Christie's crime novels and short stories from beginning to end

Dead Yesterday

Classic Mysteries and Domestic Suspense

Noirish

The annex to John Grant's *A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir*

Justice for the Corpse

Reviews of classic fair-play mystery fiction - spoiler-free unless otherwise noted

Composed Almost Entirely of Books

Books read, books written, books I just spotted and covet like an ox

Mysteries Ahoy!

Detecting Great Crime Fiction