Rating John Dickson Carr – Recommended

I’m partway through a series of posts where I categorize Carr’s books based on the reputation that I’ve found on line.  You can read my previous posts on The Classics and Highly Recommended books.

For this post, I’ll be looking at “Recommended”.  These books show up occasionally on Top 10 lists, but not nearly at the rate of my previous categories.  Here they are, listed in order of reputation.

readeriswarnedI’ve only read The Reader is Warned so far.  The plot of a claimed telepath whose threats to kill by “teleforce” are followed by unexplainable deaths is appealing.  Although I enjoyed the story thoroughly, I wouldn’t quite elevate it to the ranks of the books I’ve read from The Classics and Highly Recommended categories.  Well, maybe on par with The Nine Wrong Answers.  Although the premise was extremely intriguing, there is enough wiggle room in the circumstance to where Carr could have provided any range of solutions.

I’m curious to see how the rest of these fair.  The plots of these stories sound very intriguing, and I’m expecting to spend the next few months covering this stack.

As with my other posts on Rating Carr, I’m curious on thoughts from the community.  Are these the books positioned appropriately?  Are there any obvious stories I’ve excluded?

4 thoughts on “Rating John Dickson Carr – Recommended”

Leave a comment

Playing Detective

Thoughts on mystery fiction and games

Golden Age of Detective Fiction

Detective Fiction of the 1920's & 1930's

Solving the Mystery of Murder

Investigating CLASSIC MYSTERIES

A Crime is Afoot

A Random Walk Through Classic Crime Fiction

Long Live The Queens!

About Ellery Queen and other GAD authors

James Scott Byrnside

Author of impossible-crime murder mysteries

Countdown John's Christie Journal

A review of Agatha Christie's crime novels and short stories from beginning to end

Dead Yesterday

Classic Mysteries and Domestic Suspense

Noirish

The annex to John Grant's *A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir*

Justice for the Corpse

Reviews of classic fair-play mystery fiction - spoiler-free unless otherwise noted

Composed Almost Entirely of Books

Books read, books written, books I just spotted and covet like an ox

Mysteries Ahoy!

Detecting Great Crime Fiction