The Footprints of Satan – Norman Berrow (1950)

FootprintsOfSatanUh, so how come everyone isn’t constantly going on and on about how amazing this book is?  How is the title not thrown down alongside the likes of Rim of the Pit, Nine Times Nine, The Hollow Man, or any of those other regulars when discussing top impossible crimes?  Why was I not forced, at gunpoint or otherwise, years ago to read The Footprints of Satan?

I walked into this one pretty sure that I was going to like it based on the few reviews that I’ve seen.  And yet, Norman Berrow seems to be one of those obscure authors – the likes of Rupert Penny or Virgil Markham – and I have a distinct impression that not everyone likes his stuff.  That would be crazy though, as from the opening pages Berrow provides a warm embrace with the tale of Londoner Gregory Cushing visiting his quirky uncle Jake Popwell in the small town of Winchingham.  It’s evident from the start that this isn’t going to be some stodgy mystery – Berrow can clearly handle characters and humor as well as his better known peers.

It’s the mystery though where The Footprints of Satan separates itself.  A deep snow blankets the town, and Cushing is astonished in the morning to find a peculiar set of track leading up the hill towards the local pub.  The tracks appear to be those of a donkey or other such animal, but they’re remarkable in that each hoof is placed directly one in front of the other.  Stranger still, the prints start in the middle of a stretch of pristine white snow.

Cushing and his neighbors follow the trail, and are bewildered as they watch the tracks defy physics; crossing fragile hedges, jumping on top of six foot walls, and passing through buildings uninterrupted.  The tracks finally arrive at a house, leaping several stories to circle the roof, and then back down once more.  The trail ends at the foot of an old tree where centuries ago a witch known as The Blue Woman was hanged.  Only now, there’s a fresh body hanging in her place.

It’s a classic scene, from the moment the tracks are first spotted up until the body is found.  It plays out over several chapters and Berrow milks it for all that it’s worth.  This isn’t some mere throwing down of an impossible gauntlet; it’s forging the steel, banging out the parts, and slapping the damn contraption together before slinging it directly in the reader’s face.  Reading along, you’ll experience the growing astonishment as the group follows the tracks and uncovers one beguiling puzzle after another.

FootprintsOfSatan2How did the tracks start and end in fields of untouched snow?  Why did the tracks walk up to the doors of several houses along the way?  How/why did it leap stories and stand on window ledges?  The questions go on and on, and I’m not even listing a fraction of them as the discovery is just that much fun.

Of course, I had some theories, and in retrospect they may seem a bit cracked out.  The fact that Ramble House included a map on the back of their 2005 reprint just added fuel to that fire.  The map does an exceptional job of matching the story, and I found myself flipping the book over constantly during my reading.

Yeah, the set up of the impossibility – nay, impossibilities – is fantastic, but so is what Berrow does next.  He spends the entire rest of the novel dissecting all of the various puzzles.  This is what I want in an impossible crime.  To often, a perplexing set up is marveled over for a page or two and then set aside as the story moves on.  In this case, the unraveling of the “how” is the story.

Now, that’s not quite as one dimensional as it might sound.  We’ve a cast of characters, including series detective Lancelot Carolus Smith (a dreadful name that’s mercifully shortened to just “Smith” most of the time), on hand to pick the puzzle apart, and it’s done with enough levity to keep things fun.

If there’s a weakness here, it’s that too much time is spent conjecturing about supernatural agents.  I mean, I hope I’m not spoiling anything for you, but this being a mystery novel, it isn’t exactly surprising that there’s a human agent behind it all.  I can accept that the characters might not glom onto that for a bit, but as a reader you don’t exactly need sixty pages of characters puzzling over ghosts.  It’s comical that once it enters the mind of detective Smith that a person might actually be involved, he solves the case within seconds.  That was a bit frustrating given that I’d just spent 100 pages pulling mental gymnastics thinking through how the trick could have been pulled off.

Oh, and man, the solution to it all is a doozy.  The moment you realize the trick (and you’ll get there at just about the same time as the investigators) you’ll feel like an idiot.  And it doesn’t stop there.  Berrow pulls one rabbit from the hat after another.  Each time you think you have it all figured out, another aspect of the solution is unveiled that hits you with the revelation that you didn’t even know you hadn’t worked out all of the details yet.  I mean, I’m sitting there reveling in the glory of the solution, and then Berrow pulls this coup de grace that makes me realize I didn’t really even have it solved yet.

It’s a masterpiece of a solution.  Berrow doles it out as a series of revelations for the reader, rather than simply telling you what happened.  There’s a brilliantly simple trick at the heart of it, clothed in enough misdirection and layers to where I can’t imagine anyone figuring it all out; which is funny, because most readers must have a gut instinct for the generalities of what has to have happened.  I myself figured out the guilty party, but didn’t have the fortitude to ride it out to a full explanation.  And man, in retrospect, there’s something that I really should have known better than to… well, if you’ve read this, maybe you know what I mean.

So, consider me a convert.  The Footprints of Satan is that type of experience where I’ll seek out the rest of Berrow’s work and gladly read ten duds, always looking to capture an essence of this book.  Fortunately Christmas is just around the corner and I’ve stocked Santa’s list with a few more titles.

Speaking of Christmas, this wasn’t intended as a holiday read.  I was excited to read this the moment I got it, and the fact that two feet of snow got dumped on me in less than 24 hours just made this the natural book to pick up next.

A word of warning – a passage somewhat early in the book seems to give away a clue to the identity of the culprit of The Bishop’s Sword.  I’m hoping that I can flush that detail from my mind, but have a feeling it’s going to stick.  Anyway, you’ve been warned.

15 thoughts on “The Footprints of Satan – Norman Berrow (1950)”

  1. I know, right? How come no-one has ever mentioned how fabulous this is? 🙄

    I don’t remember the exact Bishop’s Sword line in this, but it’s obvious from the get-go that the source of all the trouble in that book is the mystic who’s moved in next door. “Who” is never really in question, so I don’t think it counts as a spoiler…

    Like

    1. There’s something very Halter-ian in the story telling, which I recall is a similar comment I made recently about Policeman’s Evidence. It’s not so much the use of the impossibilities, but rather how the stories are told and the characters in them. Hopefully I’ll be able to put my finger on it in time.

      I’m looking forward to your upcoming review of Berrow’s Ghost House.

      Like

  2. I enjoyed this one a lot but managed to solve it way before the end. I thought Berrow could have been more subtle with his clues. From what I’ve heard about him, obviousness of solutions seems to be his biggest weakness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the weakness with Berrow is generally that his answers involve a secret passage — which may, in part, be the excitement we feel about this one as (er, spoilers?) it doesn’t.

      And, yeah, the clues could have been a bit more subtle, but having now read all his first tranche (he took a break for six years over WW2) it’s interesting to reflect how little he progressed in all those books. I have a feeling he was in it for the larks rather than any sort of commitment to furthering the genre. They’re books that read like someone having a lot of fun writing them, for sure.

      Like

  3. I really have to read this one, I’ve always been fascinated by the original Devil’s Footprints story. I recommend anyone interested google “The Devil’s Hoofmarks” and read Mike Dash’s exceptionally detailed article.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, I still have this one and Bishop’s Sword to read, and I am looking forward to it. I can’t add to what has been said about Berrow’s weaknesses, but he is an enjoyable writer who all too often lets us down in plots. I think this series of five books must be his strongest. Hopefully, Ben, one of the titles you have to look forward to is The Three Tiers of Fantasy. That one was great fun, with three impossible crimes for the price of one (even if only one of the solutions was truly fine.)

    Like

    1. The Three Tiers of Fantasy wasn’t on my Christmas wish list, but at this point I’m ready to read all of Berrow. The comments by JJ, Neil, and yourself have me slightly questioning whether I’ll be as enthusiastic after I have a few more under my belt.

      Like

  5. My systematic ticking off of the genre classics continues with this. A very epic no footprints crime in the true sense of the word and just a great read to boot. The pacing in the first act felt very measured, maybe too much so I remember thinking at the time, but all the character observations and events and interactions made perfect sense later in the book. Admittedly I glommed onto the main trick just as the band of townspeople arrived at the end of the hoove trail, and from there the culprit and consequently the motive were not hard to deduce, yet that did not impair my enjoyment one bit. Maybe I’m just savvier for having read so much of this sub-sub-genre before coming to this. I know even a year ago, when I started reading GAD in earnest, I would have been flummoxed. It’s still a very well constructed piece of work and how the true life incident from 1855 figures into the events here is wonderful. The map on the back evoked “Rim of the Pit”, but where I found that title to be somewhat jading and an odd pick for second best locked room story ever, I found FOS to be a superlative read and deserving of far more glory than it appears to enjoy. Glad you also enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m surprised by how many people have seen through this one early on. My hat is off to you, although I count myself lucky that the illusion stayed in place as long as it did. Definitely fodder for a top ten list.

      Like

      1. Yep. Also love the suitably epic 20+ page solution we get, where you can see the relish with which Berrows unravels his own elaborate puzzle for our delectation. Definitely a shoo in for my top ten. As was Jezebel before this. I seem to be on a roll with my recent picks.

        Like

Leave a comment

Playing Detective

Thoughts on mystery fiction and games

Golden Age of Detective Fiction

Detective Fiction of the 1920's & 1930's

Solving the Mystery of Murder

Investigating CLASSIC MYSTERIES

A Crime is Afoot

A Random Walk Through Classic Crime Fiction

Long Live The Queens!

About Ellery Queen and other GAD authors

James Scott Byrnside

Author of impossible-crime murder mysteries

Countdown John's Christie Journal

A review of Agatha Christie's crime novels and short stories from beginning to end

Dead Yesterday

Classic Mysteries and Domestic Suspense

Noirish

The annex to John Grant's *A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Film Noir*

Justice for the Corpse

Reviews of classic fair-play mystery fiction - spoiler-free unless otherwise noted

Composed Almost Entirely of Books

Books read, books written, books I just spotted and covet like an ox

Mysteries Ahoy!

Detecting Great Crime Fiction